Black History Month opens links to learning

I don’t want you to praise me…Some praise me because I am a colored girl, and I don’t want that kind of praise. I had rather you would point out my defects, for that will teach me something. — Edmonia Lewis

Though I have seen her sculptures in galleries and in print, it was not until today that I knew or appreciated the life and work of sculptor Edmonia Lewis. As I started my research/writing routine this morning I instinctively clicked on Google’s doodle du jour. I was delighted and, even more, captivated by a visual introduction to the elegant sculpture of this brilliant African American artist. https://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/beta/exhibit/gQJi3NKm3VagLg?utm_campaign=bhm17_edmonia_lewis&utm_source=google&utm_medium=hppromo

Fortunately, my morning meeting was shifted – so my fingers and my mind heeded the lure to learn more….

Intrigued by the subject I googled again to learn about the life and work of a woman I had not known. The search led me to Michael Cavna’s piece in Washington Post where I learned more about Edmonia Lewis. I am awed, eager to learn more.   https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/comic-riffs/wp/2017/02/01/edmonia-lewis-google-doodle-salutes-pioneering-sculptor-to-kick-off-black-history-month/?utm_term=.65ed8b5ba9f4.

Another click led me to Time’s take on the Google doodle where I paused to track the process of how a doodle comes to be. http://time.com/4656108/google-doodle-sculptor-edmonia-lewis/

Happily, my search continued as I followed the links to learn about Akilah Johnson, the Eastern High School (Washington DC) student who actually designed the Google Black Lives Matter doodle. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/comic-riffs/wp/2016/03/21/d-c-student-wins-national-google-doodle-contest-with-art-that-invokes-black-lives-matter/?tid=a_inl&utm_term=.7548d215327f

At this point, the time has come to face the work routine of the day. Still, it has been a beautiful way to celebrate the first day of Black History Month 2017!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

