IPAD Hosts Not-So-Open Meeting Law Workshop

Lay person that I am I should have known better.   I had mindlessly placed the Open Meeting Law Workshop sponsored by the Information Policy Analysis Division of the Minnesota Department of Administration on my calendar.   For the chosen it is scheduled for Wednesday, June 13, 8:30 a.m.-Noon at the Department of Administration Building, 50 Sherburne Avenue in St. Paul.

The agenda sounded great:  “Practice (sic) advice on meeting obligations under Minnesota’s Open Meeting Law;  discusson about the use of technology and the Open Meeting Law;  Open Meeting Law duties illustrated by scenario discussions.

Just the things that I as a citizen concerned with local and state public policy would like to understand and better explain to my neighbors and through the venues I reach as an independent journalist.

Knowing that others share an interest in government transparency I had even written a post about the forthcoming workshop for my blog and a piece for the community newspaper and the Twin Cities Daily Planet.  My friends and neighbors have serious questions about their right to know and especially about the impact of technology on citizens’ access to information by and about the government.  This workshop is timely and on target.

As of today I’ve deleted the workshop from my calendar and scratched the araticles I had intended to share.  Turns out it’s for Insiders – “board, council or other public body members; public body staff, [and] public body attorneys. “  Furthermore, registration is a hefty $75, obviously to be covered by the “public bodies” attendees will ably represent.

Not much here for the concerned and curious public.  It seemed like a good idea at the time….

Leave a Reply

